I Am Legend Prequel?

It appears that the blockbuster flick of last year I Am Legend is being considered for another. However director Francis Lawrence said it would be a prequel and not a traditional sequel. We get the story from SlashFilm:

“During Comic Con, filmmaker Francis Lawrence revealed to Shock Till You Drop that he is thinking of making a prequel to the Will Smith sci-fi thriller I Am Legend.

“Yes, yes, absolutely, we’re actually trying to crack that, Francis told Shock. “We’re trying to figure out some ideas for it.”

Although it’s definitely not set in stone I think it’s pretty safe to say they will have another crack at this. Considering the film made almost $600 million worldwide I can’t see them not making another one in some form. However is making a prequel rather than a sequel a good idea? Personally I say leave it alone; I wasn’t a huge fan of the film in the first place so that may have something to do with my dislike for the idea of doing another one but it just seems like grabbing for more cash to me. What do you make of it? Like the idea of doing another one and if so do you like the prequel idea?

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

