Hype Can Certainly Affect Opinion

I am writing this article having just hours ago watched Ingmar Bergman’s 1957 film The Seventh Seal. An interesting film with some gorgeous cinematography and some stellar acting. But did I find it as brilliant, as fantastic, and a masterpiece as so many others found it to be? Sadly no.

This was just one of the countless examples of films I have watched after hearing the hype and praise about them from everyone (including websites like IMDB and Rotten Tomatoes) and ended up not thinking anywhere near as much of them. It’s a frustrating thing but also inevitable, and I guarantee it will continue happening in the future.

Now having mentioned The Seventh Seal, of which I must say I did still moderately like, I thought I would throw in some others which I had the same experience with.

Apocalypse Now – This is one of the most highly regarded films in history, even stated to be the very best war film ever made. Channel 4 even listed it as the number one film to see before you die. So when I eventually got round to watching it I was sorely disappointed. Again it was the technical filmmaking, the cinematography and acting etcetera, that was what I found high merit in. However I found myself bored, un-interested and overall it felt like an utter chore to sit through.

 

The Deer Hunter – Robert De Niro, Christopher Walken and director Michael Cimino? Certainly a recipe for greatness in my book. However I don’t think I have had a more boring cinematic experience in my life. Dragging on for an excruciating three hours, I was looking at my watch every five minutes during this one. I may have to try it again at some point but all I can remember is I was bored stiff (except, of course, for those harrowing Russian roulette scenes – the only saving grace).

 

The Exorcist – There’s always a danger when something gets labelled the best of it’s genre when someone then watches it for the first time. The Exorcist is so often given the title of “the scariest film ever made” and I’m sorry but not once did I feel frightened during this movie. Partly down to my knowledge of how the little girl behaves in it and partly down to the fact the film hasn’t aged well but overall I laughed when I should have been scared. I just don’t get why this is hailed as high as it is and in the way it is.

Those are just a few of mine, why not throw in some of yours?

4 Comments

  1. I had seen Apoc Now and the Exorcist when I read your article this morning. Never seen the Deer Hunter. LOVE Apoc Now (you clearly didn’t get the alnalogy of a man journeying to hell) and the Exorcist (needs to be seen in the cinema where the blacks can be distinguished and the sound is 5.1 or better…they scares in this movie are really about the sound) so I decided to watch the Deer Hunter simply because you hated it as much as the other two, which I love. Guess what, Deer Hunter is really damn good. Sorry. Don’t quit your day job.

  2. Film is subjective. It’s my opinion that those aren’t as good as people say they are, it’s not a fact that should be put in the movie rule book. And I noticed you didn’t offer any of your own examples…

  3. dude check your facts

    the deer hunter was directed by michael cimino, not milos forman as you claimed

    tut tut

  4. Arrghhh….I always get those two mixed up for some reason. I actually went to type Forman and then remembered it’s actually Cimino, but got distracted by typing in tags and then forgot about it. Sorry for that dude, I know – tut tut indeed:P


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

